I was reading this article in the Guardian Newspaper today. The Archbishop of York ,
John Sentamu, I have always admired since hearing about his peace vigil back in August 2006, I wanted to go and join him in his vigil but never did 😦

Anyway, his collar cutting was as protect against the Zimbabwe president Mugabe. The Archbishop said that Mugabe “destroyed the identities” of his people through oppression and economic mismanagement. “As an Anglican this is what I wear to identify myself, that I’m a clergyman.” “Do you know what Mugabe has done? He’s taken people’s identity and literally, if you don’t mind, cut it to pieces. This is what he’s actually done to a lot of (people) – and in the end there’s nothing. So, as far as I’m concerned, from now on I’m not going to wear a dog collar until Mugabe is gone.”

Sentamu urged those who were moved by his gesture to “pray, march, protest and collect money” for Zimbabwe and Darfur – where charities say hundreds of thousands of people are facing starvation.

What a guy, just think how powerful it would be if Christians took issues such as Zimbabwe as much as Sentamu. I recently heard an interview with Brian McLaren talking about his new book Everything Must Change. He made the point that with Christianity being the largest world faith, if Christians took environmental issues (for example) to heart we really could make a dramatic change and truly this world a better place. Unfortunately, it seems to me, that Christians just seem to get into a fuss about issues are just non-issues outside the church.

